Ryan Muncy


Ryan Muncy a choisi d'interpréter:
Ryan Muncy has chosen to perform:

Akira Yuyama


Daniel McCloud

Dark Humor *

avec la participation de:

with the participation of:

Daniel McCloud, marimba

* Création / World premiere

Ryan Muncy, originally from Sellersburg, IN, is a junior music major at Ball State University in Muncie, IN, where he studies saxophone with Dr. George Wolfe and clarinet with Dr. Caroline Hartig. Ryan is a member of the Ball State Wind Ensemble, Ball State Saxophone Quartet, and is the 1998 winner ofthe Kokomo Symphony Concerto Competition, where he recieved the opportunity to perform Ibert's Concertino da Camera. Ryan was also a performer at the 1999 North American Saxophone Alliance Region V conference. His past teachers include Ron Jones and Larry Hoover.

During high school, Ryan was selected to play in the Indiana All-State Band, All-State Honor Band, and IMEA Honor Band. He was principal hornist in the Floyd County Youth Symphony Philharmonic Orchestra, where he performed Glazunov's Concerto as a featured soloist during the 1997-98 season and was also co-principal saxophonist in the Indiana University Southeast Wind Ensemble from 1996-98.

Divertimento by Akira Yuyama, was composed at the request of renown marimba player Keiko Abe, and was completed in the summer of 1968. The work was premiered the folowing October by Keiko Abe, marimba, and Motoe Miyajima, alto saxophone. The composer speaks of his work:

"It was a great surprise to me [when I heard Keiko Abe's performance for the first time] and in a moment my prejudice against the marimba disappeared. When I was asked to compose this work for Mrs. Abe, immediately a plan to combine saxophone and marimba was born in my mind.

This divertimento was written a rondo in a variation style. To play the marimba and the saxophone requires a special technique, but as the title of the work suggests, I believe one can listen to it in a relax frame of mind."

Dark Humor by Daniel McCloud, was written in 1999 to be premiered at the 12th World Saxophone Congress with the composer playing the marimba part. It is the composer's first work for saxophone and marimba. As the piece opens, a bubbly 6/8 rhythm creates a humorous feel with sinister undertones. The second section provides a more thought-provoking ambiance, and this returns to the 6/8 feel for the conclusion of the piece.

Perpetual Motion (Part II: Variation) by William Penn, was written in 1992 and is the 4th movement of Diversions for alto saxophone and marimba. The piece was originally written for Libby Ervin and Gary Cook of the University of Arizona and at times has some mariachi, jazz, and comical elements.

Interprètes Performers


Programme / Program

5 juillet
6 juillet
7 juillet
8 juillet
9 juillet
July 5
July 6
July 7
July 8
July 9
Webmaster: Bernard Savoie b.savoie@videotron